United Kingdom

The United Kingdom consists of England, Wales, Scotland and Northern
Ireland. Its government is a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary
democracy with a queen (Elizabeth II) and a parliament (in London)
consisting of the House Of Commons and the House of Lords. The executive power of the Crown is exercised by a cabinet headed by the Prime Minister (currently Tony Blair). Both Scotland and Wales currently also possess (varying degrees) of devolved government; as has Northern Ireland at various points in its recent history.

The population of the United Kingdom (2000 estimate) is 59,511,464 with a density per sq. mile of 631. The capital and largest city is London
with a population in 1995 of over 7 million people.

Last Modified: 21.01.2002